{Whole30} Breakfast for the Girl on the Go

Some things in life are just not an option. For me, Whole30 or not, breakfast is a non negotiable.

It goes something like this:

I wake up. I drink coffee. I eat light. I work out. I come home. I shower. I eat. Like, really eat.

Not, grab a few grapes and start the day. I have to eat. If not I become hangry (hungry + angry = hangry).

On the days I go in the office, I come in from the gym at 7 AM, turn the stove on medium/high and place a large skillet. Shortly after, I now use a Tbsp of ghee and let the hangry prevention begin.

This diced sweet potato with bell peppers and poached egg recipe is GOOD. I’ll never tire of eggs, sweet potatoes, and avocado in the AM. Never.

Here’s what we need:

IMG_2443

(Sweet potato, bell peppers, avocado, eggs, ghee)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and take out cookie sheet and parchment paper.

Dice sweet potato into small cubes.

Warm butter on medium/high skillet and melt.

Place potatoes in skillet and make each side touch the hot pan, 7 to 8 minutes.

Next, place peppers in pan 2 to 3 minutes.

Move potatoes and peppers onto parchment covered baking sheet and bake 10 or so minutes.

Potatoes should be easily pierced with fork.

IMG_2444 IMG_2445 IMG_2447

Eggs

Now, while that’s baking, put 2 inches of water in previous pan/skillet, 1-2t white vinegar and few dashes salt.

Place on stove over medium/high heat and bring to a boil.

While waiting, place eggs carefully in separate bowls.

Once water is boiling, carefully slide in both eggs to boiling water.

Immediately remove pan from heat, cover, and let sit 3-5 minutes.

(depending on soft or firm yolk consistency preference)

I used a spatula to move eggs from pan to plate. I broke my yolk when cracking so I had already lost pretty presentation points early on 🙂 Let’s be real, my eggs never stood a chance!

IMG_2446

Voila! Season to taste with salt & pepper, then breakfast is served!

I prep the sweet potato/pepper the day before and will mix up how eggs are cooked. I eat around 1/2 potato per serving and they last well for a few days in fridge. This was my first poached egg attempt and while it doesn’t look pretty, it tastes great! I also picked up this today:

AID_12oz_AN_CA-DL-FC103520-90 So, I’ll be adding this in on days I need to be out of the door quickly!

Leave a Reply

