Prep School || Whole30 Style

Before anything else, preparation is the key to success.
-Alexander Graham Bell
We’ve all heard Albert Einstein’s definition of insanity, “Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” Truth. Smart man, that Albert. So, if we know that quote to be a truth, why do we still talk about wanting to feel, look, act, sound, move, live differently and somehow wake up each day and make the same decision(s) over and over again like a bad version of Groundhog Day…still. Stuck. Maybe it’s not physical for you (although I’m confident we all struggle here), and its emotional or relational.
 Make a change. It’s OK to want more for yourself. It’s OK to demand more for yourself. You may feel silly, weird, out-of-place and that’s OK too! 
I’ve found that when I’m making this change because of the desire for something more, 10 out of 10 times, it involves putting myself out there, being vulnerable, open to failure, open to rejection, but also open to the possibility that it could be more than I ever imagined.
The “What if?” Game
What if I put myself out there, make plans to change known? Plans to eat better, get off meds, feel better, lower cholesterol, improve sleep and well-being, be stronger, live longer for my children? We ALL want this! The fear of failing and not being enough keeps us stuck right where we are, BP meds and all. What If I start going to the gym, try to eat healthy, but fall of the wagon and then everyone knows I failed? People will think I’m incompetent. They’ll think I’m not good enough…and I believe them.
It’s OK to think, “what if,” but don’t let that stop you from being a better version of you! Don’t let fear keep you in a tiny box where you’re comfortable letting your insecurities keep you contained. Be bold. Be unordinaryBe the best you.
 He will give me (and you) strength to replace pride with humility and proceed. Growth. 
Fear is a crazy powerful thing.
…for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.”
2 Timothy 1:7
(My recent growth involves publishing a blog called RealigningRhodes 🙂 )
Pride Goes before destruction, and a haughty spirit before a fall.” Proverbs 16:18
Likely, you’ll be stepping outside of your comfort zone to better yourself, otherwise you would have done it long ago. Good. That allows growth! God created us. God loves us. God didn’t design us to live miserable lives. He designed us to live joyful lives. Joy can be found even in the midst of affliction, pain, sorrow, and discomfort, as well as times that aren’t so difficult. BUT joy is a choice. choose to find my joy in Him and His truth. He defines me. He makes me whole. 

Speaking of whole, back to our regularly scheduled blog now 🙂 Hah!

Whole30 Prep School
 Preparation IS the key to success in basically every aspect of life, {If you’re type A, like myself, preparation is the only option for success and all the other non-preparers out there just confuse us.}
I’ve been making these salads on Sundays for as long as I can remember. It’s so easy, pretty quick, and makes lunch much simpler throughout the week. You’re guaranteed a salad each day and you’ll be out much less denaro than buying one pre-made elsewhere, plus YOU control the ingredients! Control? Sign me up!
Needed
Cutting board
Knife
Containers to store mixed salads
10-16 oz of organic greens (spring mix, spinach…) ($4-$7, organic)
Small, pre-cut or shredded carrots ($0.99, organic)
Pre-cut celery ($2)
Grape Tomatoes ($1.50, organic)
Mini bell peppers ($1.75)
(get creative here, anything fresh can go)
Sprouts are fun
Cucumbers also a great choice
I love adding beets as well!
Gather
IMG_9697
Cut
IMG_9698
Mix
IMG_9701
Marvel at Your Makings
IMG_9702
Salad greens for the gold!  Seriously, how easy is that?? You can easily get 6-7 salads out of 16 oz spring mix container!
Grab this, some meat left over from dinner, 1/4-1/2 avocado and you are set!
You can eat healthy, give your body what it needs to feel great, feel stronger with each wise decision made and be the best you! For yourself and others! For me, that’s why I’m doing The Whole30.
Preparation always precedes success, remember that!
One thought on “Prep School || Whole30 Style

Leave a Reply

