{Whole30} Haters and Congratulators

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 6.24.59 AM

At the same moment I decided to put it out there, or really here, that I (and eventually my Boo) were embarking on the Whole30, a red carpet was being rolled out for all sorts of questions coming my way.

Why would you diet?

You’re so skinny already, are you trying to lose weight?

Are you hungry?

Is it hard?

Is it Paleo? 

Are you miserable? 

What day are you on?

What happens after day 30?

And let me just tell you, I love it. I love it even when the person voicing their curiosity isn’t coming from a very nice or sincere place. Some people have actually gotten mad at me for starting this journey, which I can’t help but laugh and say, “I’ve really enjoyed it so far, and while I’d recommend it for everyone, I’m not asking anyone to join me…not even you,” delivered with that southern girl smile and charm of course. 🙂  I love it when the curious one is asking for tips to embark on their own Whole30, and I love it when the curious one is just that…curious.

You know what else? You find out a lot about people when you put yourself out there. Now, do I expect anyone to read about this journey or anything I post after? Not really, and for the longest I actually kept my blog private and it was just a secret I kept…and I liked it that way.  Do I think I have something special and think I’m better than others and just want people to see me. Oh. Lord. No. This is so far out of my comfort zone that I might as well be on Pluto. I’m very private and could likely live in my little condo (with my Boo, of course) and be perfectly content staying isolated. I can be very private and very reserved. Some people get recharged from being around people and never being alone. I’m definitely recharged in solitude. If you ask my mom, I’ve been this way since I could crawl. By no means is this a bad thing, but I believe that God created us to live in community, encouragement, alongside others, loving each other unconditionally with His love…and you can’t do that without being vulnerable, being open, being real. 

So, here I am in all of my flaws, inconsistencies, bad habits, joys, growths, nuances…just kind of, well, out there.

While I’d like to think that people are always supportive and happy for others, that’s simply not always the case. And that’s OKAY. When you put yourself out there, you’re putting yourself out there for support, love, and encouragement (And you’ll be so thankful for moments filled with such), but you’re also putting yourself out there for the Negative Nancy’s, Loveless Lucy’s, and Disapproving Debra’s. And the funny thing is that the Nancy’s, Lucy’s, and Debra’s will continue to follow what you’re doing…like fully commit to following you, just to put you down.

But let’s not forget an important truth: Hurt people hurt people.

Simple as that.

Don’t get mad. Don’t get even. Don’t get bitter.

If you do anything, just love. Ask God to teach you to love like Him. Ask for the ability to love others that hurt you and hurt you intentionally.

But, Mallory, that’s hard!

 Dang right it’s hard! That’s why we look to Him, because in and of ourselves it’s simply not possible. But,

“Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

Matthew19:26

He did that for us, does that for us, and will allow us to love others the same. Through Him. 

“But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

Romans 5:8

People who choose to find joy in life will also choose to find joy in your ventures and in you. People who choose to live a life focused on the negative, that the grass is always greener somewhere…anywhere, putting others down to build themselves up…what will they do? Well, they will choose to find their “joy” in putting you down. And guess what? You’ll be fine.

Do what you do. God has given you a gift. God has given you a dream. God has given you a desire. God has given you the tools you need to follow that gift, dream, and desire. Why? For His glory!

“God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.” -John Piper

So, why keep it bottled up inside because of the fears of what others will say in reaction?

It is burning to come out!

“But if I say, ‘I will not mention his word or speak anymore in his name,’ his word is in my heart like a fire, a fire shut up in my bones. I am weary of holding it in; indeed, I cannot.

Jeremiah 20:9

Be bold.

Be confident.

Be great.

Be His.

Now,originally, this post was to include the most FAQ I’ve personally received while Whole30’ing, but it was getting a little lengthy and you’re likely to only scroll for so long to read my post. Better yet, I’m only willing to scroll so long to read posts, so I’m assuming there are others out there with the same attention span 🙂

Sometimes short and sweet IS best.

Stay tuned because the FAQ is coming your way super soon!

Until then, choose joy over sadness, chose encouragement over discouragement, choose life over death, and choose your Creator of this world over the things of this world!

❤ ❤ ❤

One thought on “{Whole30} Haters and Congratulators

  1. I am so bummed!!! 😢 I have checked IG all day for a final day post. Where is it??? So proud of you, Mal!!! Your dedication and this blog are simply amazing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

