The Best & Easiest Whole30 Approved Butternut Squash Soup Recipe, Like, Ever

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 5.36.08 PM

(picture source)

Ahhhh…Fall…it’s in the air.

Wait, nope, that’s still the 90 degree heat and humidity!

Let’s try this again.

Ahhhh…Fall…it’s on the calendar.

Yep! That’s a bit more accurate šŸ™‚

Since the first day of fall has come and gone and there is no chill in the air orĀ Starbucks Pumpkin Spiced Lattes in my near future, I decided to take matters into my own hands and bring fall into my own kitchen. I was bed/couch ridden with body aches and a cough and craving one thing. Soup. Butternut squash soup to be exact. God must have known this would happen, because at Costco Monday afternoon, I randomly picked up 6 cups of precut butternut squash. (Lance made the comment, “Wouldn’t it be cheaper to cut it ourselves?”Ā Yes, honey, it would, but you won’t be the one cutting it, so zip it. Oops, Did I say that out loud? Actually, no, not to his face. Just in my head…and now here…with you.Ā Don’t tell.)

Anyhow, until fall weather arrives here in the south, I’ll just turn our air way down for a self created chill (<—- there’s no way I’d actually do that, it’d be so expensive. Maybe I’ll just turn on all the ceiling fans šŸ˜‰ ), put on sweats, and pretend it’s cool outside while eating my delicious butternut soup as a side to walnut encrusted pork tenderloin and of course enjoy some Cinnamon Apple Spice Tea after dinner.

If you have not yet been introduced to Celestial teas, you need to do yourself a favor and get on board.Ā This stuff is amazing.Ā Specifically, this:

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 5.21.57 PM

You’re welcome.

Whole30 approved Fall in a cup.

You guys, it really is so good! Basically, every night after dinner, you can find us sitting on the couch, drinking our hot Apple Spice Tea. This is one of those things you don’t let run out without getting a new box as backup. For the sake of our marriage I wouldn’t let that happen. Plus, Lance keeps an ongoing count, so I doubt I’ll ever have to worry about it.

Now that I’ve increased your quality of life through this tea, we can return to the soup recipe šŸ™‚

If you, like me, crave soup and cooler weather, read on to know the incredibly simple way to make your wish come true.

Here’s all ingredients needed

IMG_1155

3 Cinnamon Apple Spice Tea bags steeped in 8 oz hot water (remove tea bags after steeping)

1/2 onion diced (I used food processor)

1-2 handful baby carrots

6 cups butternut squashĀ chopped (bonus points for buying it at Costco pre chopped)

2 apples (I used honey crisp, some people prefer granny smith) peeled and chopped

1 can coconut milk at minimum (I used 1/2 of another can while blending)

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

Salt to taste

(Paprika would probably be good as well and/or any other spice you’d like to add)

Crockpot

1 knife

Immersion blender or food processor

Here’s what we do with above ingredientsĀ 

Ready for the easiest recipe, like, ever?

Take all prepared ingredients (everything should be chopped, peeled, and steeped by now, so if it’s not, then get with it) and place them in your crockpot.

Stir ingredients around to mix.

Close lid and set to low heat.

IMG_1156

Set timer for 4-6 hours (I let mine cook for 5 hours) and simply walk away and get stuff done. Or, get back in bed, go back to sleep and pray you feel better in 5 hours. You know, whatever works.

Return to crockpot and when you can easily poke squash and apples with fork, turn off heat and let cool.

IMG_1158

This is where an immersion blender, which I don’t have, would come in super handy. You could, at this point, use the immersion blender while the soup is still in the crockpot and call it a day!

I, however, transferred the crockpot ingredients into a food processor. **Make sure you do this in at least TWO separate batches without overfilling.** Otherwise, if you get impatient, your food processor will overflow, leaving you with a huge mess to clean up.Ā Not that I’m speaking from experience orĀ anything.

Also make sure you get equal parts of squash, apples, and liquid in each batch.Ā Trust me.Ā 

My first batch was great after I added a little salt to taste. My second batch was a little too runny sinceĀ I left almost all of the liquid for this one, so I simply added some additional coconut milk and salt to improve.

IMG_1162

You can top with whatever you’d like. I chose pecans, and next time I will put some ghee in a pan with cinnamon and roast the pecans on the stovetop prior to topping the soup.Ā Yummmmm!Ā Bacon would be good as well!

There you have it! A Whole30 approved butternut squash recipe that couldn’t get any more simple, especially if you have an immersion blender šŸ™‚

Sit back, relax, turn your air conditioner down for a chill, put on some sweats, light a fall candle, and enjoy the artificial fall air southern girl style!

One thought on “The Best & Easiest Whole30 Approved Butternut Squash Soup Recipe, Like, Ever

Leave a Reply

